What Am I Up To?

Perhaps you are asking that question, perhaps not, but here it is. I’ve been working on only a few things in the past week…it can be difficult to get a lot of spinning/knitting/crocheting done when you are working and, surprise, traveling. It has been crazy with extra hours at both my part time job and of course, a crazy graphic design schedule that included not only tons of internship designs but freelance as well. I must be insane because of course the few days that I did not work I traveled to visit family (while working on freelance/internship remotely). To say the least it’s been interesting, but fun, and I am truly grateful for the work.

Yet, when you love something, you keep doing it, so along with work I slipped in some quick sock knitting while also spinning for Tour de Fleece. I joined the Camelot Dyeworks group this year as a newb spinner (only owning my own wheel for a few months and knowing how to spin for like 6 months). My lofty goals of finishing the current project on the wheel so I could start a batt didn’t happen. I have, however, been spinning every day, even during travel. By the sheer amount of practice I have put into my spinning, both on spindle and wheel, my skills have improved by leaps and bounds. I can actually spin even singles on my spindle. On my wheel, I’m getting the hang of joining new fiber without have unsightly bumps. It’s lovely.

tdf_days_13-14

tdf_days15-18_2

In truth, that’s about it. No soap-box rants (which will come occasionally, I promise…if you’re into that that is, haha), no amazing I-just-finished-a-1800yd-shawl-in-3-days, no plied singles spun up in a day. It’s just me, plugging away, and doing my best. I’m designing logos and flyers, knitting socks during breaks at work, reading like the book will burn if I don’t read it faster, and of course, spinning like a mad-woman on a mission. To all of you who understand, power to you. For all who think I’m crazy/lazy/etc., whatever floats your boat. Most importantly, do what you love (mini-rant included).

~Stay Inspired

Leave a Reply

