Tutorial: Simple Crochet Beaded Wrap Bracelet

Crochet Wrap Bracelet; Wooly Mastadon
An exciting day indeed. I have been wanting to share a tutorial with you for a while now, but just wasn’t sure what to share. Then inspiration struck. I devised this pattern on a whim several years ago (in the early years when I first learned to crochet) after seeing an image on Pinterest. I didn’t have an account then and just stalked the boards so I no longer know where the original image was. It was one of those moments when I thought, hey, I could make something like that. I went to work and in no time at all I had a wrist full of wrap bracelets. This pattern is really easy, even for a beginner crocheter. It is easy to pick up because all you need to know how to do is a slip knot and chain stitch. At one of my crochet lessons (I headed up a craft night with lessons for a while) I taught my students how to make these and they were a hit. There were even a few people who never crocheted before who finished one of these that evening. Enough said, lets get started shall we?

bracelet-tutorial-materials

Materials:

  • Crochet Thread (I used size 3 or bedspread weight mercerized cotton thread. The weight doesn’t really matter, just pick a hook to match your thread)
  • Size B (2.25 mm) Crochet Hook
  • 30 size E Beads (choose beads to fit over your thread, I typically go with smaller E-beads you can get at most craft stores or small fake pearl beads)
  • Scissors

 

Let’s get started!

bracelet-tutorial-1

1. Thread your 30 beads onto your crochet thread (still attached to the spool/cone).

Tip: Dip the tip of your crochet thread in some white school glue (like Elmer’s) and let dry to make stringing your beads easier.

bracelet-tutorial-3

2. Chain 10.

bracelet-tutorial-4

3. Bring a bead close to your hook. Chain around that bead to catch it in the cord you are creating.

4. Chain 6.

5. Bring another bead close to your hook and once again catch it in the chain once more by chaining one.

bracelet-tutorial-5

7. Repeat steps 4 and 5 until you no longer have any beads left on your thread.

bracelet-tutorial-6

8. Chain 10. Finish off by cutting the thread and pulling the tail through the last loop to create a knot.

bracelet-tutorial-7

To finish, simply tie the two tails together as close as you can. bracelet-tutorial-final1 bracelet-tutorial-final2

Wrap the bracelet around your wrist and wear with pride. Now you truthfully can reply “yes, I made this!”

P.S. Share your finished objects using #WoolyMastadon. I love to see what you all are doing!

~Stay Inspired

 

Leave a Reply

