Knitting Socks, and Thoughts

Socks: Wooly Mastadon

Well, it has been pretty slow around here…well, at least on the blog. It has been anything but slow in life. Last week, I found myself knitting in a hospital waiting room, wondering. Wondering if my family member would be okay, wondering what would happen, wondering how life was going to change, wondering, worrying, hoping. I sat there with family and friends watching the patient status board, hoping to see the status switch to recovery so that we could visit my family member soon after. I sat there at a loss, because there was nothing I could do…but knit. I brought along socks to knit, the ones that I had mentioned earlier but then ended up languishing in hibernation because of holiday gift knitting. I brought them out for this, and knit and knit and knit. I knit in the hospital waiting room and got about 1.5 socks done. Then there was relief; my family member was okay, although recovery would be slow. I could go to the room and visit. It nearly broke my heart to see my strong loved one so weak with the drugs and surgery still fresh. So I knit and knit and knit. I had nearly both socks completed minus the heals. It was therapeutic and helped me to keep my mind on positive thoughts and prayers.

During my stay in the town miles away from home, I found a yarn shop. I ended up stopping in on one of the several days of my stay since my family member’s recovery would take several days, perhaps even a week. When in the shop I purchased sock yarn, with the hopes to start yet another pair of socks soon after. The owner of the yarn shop started chatting with me and was impressed that I knit socks. It them came up why I was staying in town and she started discussing prayer shawls. She had worked at the very hospital my family member was staying at for 35 years and during that time knit or crocheted prayer shawls for some of the patients. On a stand by the door of the yarn shop, she had one of her hand crocheted afghans, one of her prayer shawls. She looked at it and gave it to me. She wouldn’t take money for it or anything. She told me to bring it to my family member, that it was a prayer shawl and that many people were praying for her. It was beautiful and heartwarming, it brought tears to my eyes. It brought my faith back in people, and reminded me of the generosity of crafters and creators. It was a wonderful reminder.

Shortly after I had to return home. I had work to return to and a pooch to take care of. It is lonely without my family around, and it was even harder knowing I would had to leave my family member at that hospital, that I couldn’t take them with me and bring them back to the comforts of home. I know they are in the safe place right now, that there is an arsenal of wonderful and friendly nurses watching them, and that the doctors and another family member are close by. But it doesn’t take away the pain, the nagging feeling that I should be there. So I knit, and knit, and knit.

And I hoped and prayed, that my family member will be able to come home safe soon, and that the path to recovery will be  as complete and swift as possible. All that hoping and praying will pay off in a day, when my family member will return, to gain strength and fight the illness that tried to take them: cancer. There is hope and I will hold onto it tight, and knit.

Such is life and absence here. Perhaps it will continue for a bit, where I only pop in once a week or so, perhaps it won’t, but you better believe that my creating will not stop and that it will help to keep me sane as a side project. My graphic design, photography, crafting, and finally blogging mojo is back…basically I want to create again.

The Lord is guiding all things, and he will bring my family through this.

~Stay Inspired

One thought on “Knitting Socks, and Thoughts

Leave a Reply

