Spinning Fest!

Bad Luck: Wooly Mastadon

Just as I expected I was able to do some spinning these past two days that I have had off of work. I decided I would just pop in and share what’s happening.

Pictured at the beginning of this post is my Bad Luck yarn. It was an unknown wool I purchased at a fiber swap to support my local community arts center. When I started spinning it I realized it looks just like those ‘fire gang’ creatures from Labyrinth (the movie with David Bowie). I love that movie so making a connection to it was awesome. I got 266 yards of a light sport/heavy fingering weight yarn, a 2 ply. I am not sure what I’ll knit with it yet, but I’m thinking it should be tied into Labyrinth in some way. Any suggestions?

Navajo Ply: Wooly Mastadon

The second thing I finished up was some navajo plying sampling. I had a tiny bit of blue fiber of an unknown fiber content that I decided to spin up to practice navajo plying with. I had finished spinning it two weeks ago and just never got to the intended purpose of the project. I plied it today and ended up with 20 yards of a 3 ply. I don’t know if I’ll do anything with it but we’ll see. It is extremely over-spun and wonky.

Rainbow Roving: Wooly Mastadon

Finally, I am starting something new. This spring I had dyed some roving in a fiber class during my last semester of college (info here). It is a bit felted because of my lack of knowledge and skills in this area, but it ended up pretty vibrant in a rainbow colorway. I decided to give it a try spinning it. I have divided it in half: pictured on the right is the drafted fiber ready to go, on the left what is left of the roving. If I can spin it despite the felting issue I might actually aim towards making this into an art piece for an upcoming local art show, but we’ll see. I don’t know if I’ll like this or not so no promises.

Oh yeah, and I actually updated my stash on Ravelry…well the only part of the stash that will ever get on there, fiber. I decided that since my goal with fiber is to stay on top of the stash, then I will post my fiber stash on Ravelry so I know what I have and can see at a glance what I have to spin. I don’t plan on doing this with yarn, because although I don’t have anywhere near enough yarn to run a yarn store, there is enough there that it would take way too much time and effort to photograph it and put the info into my stash on Ravelry. I feel I’d be wasting precious spinning, knitting, crocheting, and blogging time. Well, that’s about it. Until next time.

~Stay Inspired

2 thoughts on “Spinning Fest!

Leave a Reply

