My Christmas Yarn and Book Haul

Christmas Yarn and Book Haul: Wooly Mastadon

For starters, how was your Christmas? Mine was wonderful. Working at a grocery store (yes, I admit it) on Christmas Eve day was way too hectic, everyone in a rush and the store at max capacity when it came to employees…it was BUSY. That being said, I had my eyes on the prize that was Christmas Eve. It was a peaceful, joyful evening that lead into a trip ‘to Grandmother’s house we go’. I was able to visit family I haven’t seen in a while and meet their new dog which they just adopted last week (I’m a hard core animal lover, people)! It was a wonderful and much needed break. Now I’m back and refreshed to start out the week and the new year. With that, onto the yarn.

Every year at Christmas someone or a few people get me gifts of yarn or crafting books, and I just love it. This year was no different and I want to share with you the few things I got. First off, let’s start with the yarn. I received a few skeins of yarn, all specialty yarns that I have not yet used (pictured in the beginning photo). From my yarn-loving aunt I received two skeins of each, Red Heart Sashay in the Ballet colorway and Premier Yarns Starbella Lace in the Thistle colorway. I have never used these yarns, although I know they are extremely popular for scarves. Perhaps I’ll buts out a few of these, either for me or for gifts. From a family friend that knows me too well, I got a skein of Bernat Viva in the Rust colorway. That yarn is so fuzzy and soft, I just might have to make a hat or small cowl if there is enough yardage. We shall see.

Christmas Yarn and Book Haul: Wooly Mastadon

In the book department I received two crafty books. The first book I discovered through the knitting community and podcasts, as it is very popular among knitters. I’ve been wanting this book for a while now so I was so thrilled when my parents bought me Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett. It is so cute, I love it! I also received The Spinner’s Book of Yarn Designs by Sarah Anderson. This book will definitely be a wonderful resource, as I really don’t know how to spin anything but a tightly packed two or navajo plied yarn. I can’t wait to try out some new techniques.

Well, that is about it. I am so lucky to have so many people supporting my yarn habit. I was able to sit down with my Aunt, Mom, and Grandma and come up with new ideas for fiber projects, just by chatting since they are all crafty people. We’ll have to see what comes of it, definitely some small projects will be started based off those conversations soon. Hope your holidays were wonderful and that coming into the new year is awesome.

~Stay Inspired

Leave a Reply

