An Awesome Gift

Sock Blockers: Wooly Mastadon

I’m a knitter; a hard-core, crazy fiber enthusiast who loves just about everything involved with all kinds of yarny crafts. I like all the different yarns, trying new fibers, learning different techniques. It is all fun to me. Then this last week my Mom asked if I’d be interested in something our family friend found on her homestead. My Mom was trying to explain them, and was having difficulty. I came to the conclusion that they had to be some strange version of antique sock blockers…and then promptly forgot about them, until today. These things are so cool, I just had to stop in and share them. They are marked with a carved in numbers as size 11 1/2. I’m guessing this is a size 11 1/2 man’s shoe size as they are very wide. However, those would work perfect to block socks for my Dad (yet another reason to knit him socks). These are just so cool and beautiful: I want to display them on my wall. These were an exciting find and make me want to learn their history. Who knows, but until then, these are perfect. From one knitter and someone who knew nothing about what they were to another (me) who is crazy excited about them and so happy to now own them, this was the perfect way to start off the year. What do you think? Have you ever seen anything like these? Would you be just as excited?

~Stay Inspired

Leave a Reply

