A Pattern!…Sort Of

Seed Stitch Cowl: Wooly Mastadon

I have been wanting to design and release patterns for some time now (try at least 3 years), but up to this point all the designs I make are either super basic or something I didn’t take notes for and can’t repeat easily. Often I feel that what I make isn’t something someone else would want to make as well, and that it just isn’t on trend. This is me trying to get past this roadblock as I go into 2015 with the attempt to actually design a real pattern. Until then, please let me know your thoughts on this one, my first attempt at actually publishing something I make (and designing the layout of the pattern itself, yay graphic design).

So, this was a quick cowl recipe I whipped up on a whim towards the beginning of 2013 because I was on yet another stash busting kick. I had a lot of Red Heart Super Saver (oh, I know I speak blasphemy in the grown up knitting/fiber world I now reside in, but hey, that is what I get from family often so I wanted to use it). I enjoyed some of the color combos but just didn’t know what to do with it all. Hoping for the best, I started knitting a basic length of fabric using two strands of the yarn held together on big needles. The drape was nice, and lo and behold, once thrown in the washer and dryer it was soft and ready to be next to the skin (the benefit of this stuff, it wears like iron).

And then those several cowls, about seven of them, sat and I forgot about the pattern I liked so much. Fast forward to Christmas of 2014. Two times I was in a pinch to give a hand knit gift to a friend on a last minute get together. I remembered my stash and since cowls are fashionable right now, and not just in the knitting community, I gifted two away. They were a huge hit, and the chunky appearance helped keep them on trend.

So I picked up my needles and started creating more cowls with my acrylic yarns and have been working on them on and off since new years.

These things are versatile and a crowd pleaser. I thought I might as well share my recipe with you.

Here is a link to the pattern on Ravelry. Otherwise, you can download it by clicking the image below.

Simplicity Cowl: Wooly Mastadon

 

~Stay Inspired

Leave a Reply

