What I’m Looking At

 

Around the Internet: Wooly Mastadon

So, I thought I’d do something a little different this week as far as my weekly Friday post. Normally, I go for the current projects, a tutorial, or just a thought post. This week, as I have a lot of technical work to do on my end for all of the patterns I have been writing up, so I thought it would be nice to share a few of the things that have caught my eye this week, especially when it comes to Pinterest, but also along the lines of music I have been listening to, videos I have been watching, etc. Let’s get to it.

To start off, Pinterest (follow me here). There is so much going on there…which makes me think, do you ever go back and look at a board and say, hey, I definitely have a style. As an artist, style is one of those words that you either love because you know your style, or hate because you feel you have no personal style at all in your work. Well, I’ve always been in the hate camp because I have no recognizable style when it comes to my art, but looking at Pinterest is starting to make me change my ideas. Most boards share the same clean, bright style that I gravitate towards for most things. Okay, end of tangent, but seriously, its a thought. Anyway, here are some things that have caught my eye:

First of all, as my desk space redo is still in full force (I still need the actual table, ugh), my spaces and studio spaces boards have been growing, and fast. Each time I look back at the board I know I need to add an element from each space into my life. Chaos? Perhaps, but that is how I roll.

Okay, I’m still a graphic designer at heart, as well as a fiber artist and theory based artist, so it has been all about the clean, bright designs lately. Above is a great example of packaging by Gian Besset. Lately, I’ve been loving a lot of the design trends that tend to be clean, bright, type-centric designs, often involving some form or handwriting or messy graphic to tie everything together. Amazing.

Macrame garlands for your next party. Find the full tutorial on www.aBeautifulMess

One more, and it is definitely fiber-centric…in a way. Around a year ago I got into reading the blog A Beautiful Mess (check it out, it’s really fun). More recently, however, a lot of fiber craft related DIYs have been featured on the blog. I’m in love with the Macrame Yarn Garland that was featured this week. Check it out though, as they have featured weaving small wall hangings and crochet as well.

Onto a few other things. Music, ah music. I love my music and often it is the thing that keeps me going on long days. I’ve found myself humming songs from Imogen Heaps latest album Sparks. Her music has a lot of meaning and process behind it, and her Neglected Space gets me thinking and shivering every time. Otherwise it has been a mashup on Spotify of new and popular songs and old favorites.

As for videos, it’s been a mix of the Knit Girllls, Essie Button, and BuzzFeed Violet. Yup, a random mix but hey, this is what happens when I work 3-11 pm shifts at random and spend late hours on graphic design projects and knitting patterns. What are you looking at? I hope some of these links inspire you to create, try something new, or expand your style.

P.S. It’s officially the year of the sheep…yes! Have you seen Anna Hrachovec’s latest design, the tiny sheep. So cute! Embrace it.

~Stay Inspired

 

2 thoughts on “What I’m Looking At

  1. Girphant says:

    Wait, wait, wait. You watch Essie Button?! Small world, I love her. Reggie is the reason I am now, 90% cat person and 10% dog person (I used to be 100% cat person). Btw this blog post is giving me much envy. So clean and organized, kind of like the topic of your post.

    Like

    • vaschwanke says:

      Thinking of doing more of these in the future since I love reading this kind of post on other blogs. Also, Essie’s channel is great. I found her on accident and love her personality and ideas. Go dog people! You’ll be converted in no time (however, I love cats so how about 50/50). How about stealing the topic of this post : )

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

