Random Ramblings: My Knitting Story via Yarn

My Yarn Journey: Wooly Mastadon

When I found the weaving piece I shared with you yesterday, I started thinking about yarn. When I was younger, I thought that yarn was stupid. I thought it was the most useless craft material known to man, and the only yarn I owned was some depressing acrylic from a thrift store that occasionally was used for sock puppet hair. Then, in fifth grade I was introduced to weaving on a cardboard loom. I actually enjoyed it and ended up putting that thrift store yarn to use. I started many of those weavings but never finished as single one. Fast-forward just under two years and my Aunt decided to teach me crochet on one summer vacation. My Aunt, Uncle and Cousin met my family at my Grandmother’s house for a week to visit, swim in the lake (Grandma lives on a small lake) and do chores to help out. For whatever reason, my Aunt was kind and patient enough to teach the snotty child that I was crochet. I don’t even remember why she decided to do it. All I remember is my Mom asking if I’d be interested shortly before we went on vacation and I said sure, not having a clue what would be started that summer. When I arrived a small crochet care package (yes my friends, that was my first knitting bag, and it was my pride and joy…I love Scooby Doo to this day) awaited me along with hand-written instructions and samples all prepared by my loving Aunt. I caught on quickly, much faster than she expected and only got stuck on the crochet chain (my Grandmother ended up showing me how to do her method to create the chain and I was set). By the end of that trip I had created 9 blanket squares which I shortly joined into a small baby blanket. That vacation I hardly ever put the hook down. From then on I created everything I could.

The following summer my Aunt taught me how to make a granny square, and many more projects followed. That Christmas she gave me a big box of yarn, knitting needles, and a how to knit book. I attempted to knit, but struggled to follow the book’s instructions. My Grandmother couldn’t stand watching me strugggle and taught me how to cast-on and the basic knit stitch. After that I never looked back. I learned the Continental method of knitting as opposed to the American method taught in the book, and have knit faster because of it.

All it took was a few days one summer to completely flip my opinion of yarn. Now I have so much yarn that I don’t know what to do with it. It is such a blessing, but I always look back to the days when I thought yarn was the most stupid, useless craft material on the planet. If only I knew what I would get sucked into. If only I knew fiber crafting/art was in my blood.

And I’m not ever going back.

~Stay Inspired

Leave a Reply

