Book Haul!

Book Haul: Wooly Mastadon

I was a bad, bad girl this past week. I was looking at my book wish list and realized that I didn’t own any books on knitting sweaters. What an oversight! I’ve been trying to get into knitting sweaters and really like the process thus far, so I decided to bite the bullet and buy a few books. Originally I was going to get them with a gift card I had, but ended up buying them from Knit Picks instead because, hello, book sale! I wanted to get free shipping as well so a few (read two) other books just leaped into my cart (seriously, I couldn’t stop them, they wouldn’t let me). On top of it, they had a promo where you could get a set of size 8 Caspian interchangeable needles with the cable for like $7 as a promo (no idea how long it’s going on or if it is only with certain purchases), but I decided to go for that too. You can see where this is going, can’t you. I ended up with four books and a set of needles at the end of the night with no regrets…none.

So here’s what I got. For starters, the non-sweater books. I had been eyeing up Crochet with One Sheepish Girl by Meredith Crawford since it came out. I have followed her blog onesheepishgirl.com for a while now (read a few years) and actually went back and read all of the blog posts when I discovered her. Thus, I knew I wanted to get this book. I love her style and the patterns in the book are just so stinkin’ cute. That camera purse is going to be mine, yes it is! I also got Knitted Woodland Creatures by Susie Johns. I have seen this book reviewed in a few places as well as featured in ad spots and just knew I needed to get it. My main reason for buying it: the rabbit pattern looks just like the Velveteen Rabbit from the children’s book, I just have to knit it. There are a lot of unique patterns as well: the mole stands out. They are just perfect.

For the sweater books, I ended up getting Knit to Flatter by Amy Herzog. I have been stalking this book since it came out. I knew I wanted it before all of the reviews started coming out but now I am so happy I purchased it. I have already skimmed it and am reading it cover to cover. I think I may add my review to the never-ending mix soon, but for now let’s just say it is as amazing as I thought it would be. It’s the perfect book to add to my library.

The last book I purchased was a bit of a whim. I had heard a review on it done by the Knit Girllls and realized that I had seen the book elsewhere but it had slipped my mind. It’s No-Sew Knits by Kristen TenDyke. I have only just glanced at it but I know already that it will be a good resource and pattern book. I hope to glean some great info on sweater knitting from this book, not necessarily the basics but just a few techniques I have been curious about. All in all I am excited about this book too.

Overall I am happy with my new books. If anything new books are always a good motivator to get more knitting and crocheting done. So, are you interested in reviews on these books? I think I may share my thoughts on a few of these. Until later.

~Stay Inspired

One thought on “Book Haul!

  1. Kristen TenDyke says:

    So glad to see that you’ve bought and are enjoying the content in my No-Sew Knits book! I’d love to connect with you on FB, twitter, instagram, etc… (I’m KristenTenDyke everywhere) and let me know if any questions come up for you. 🙂 Happy Knitting! ~Kristen~

    Like

Leave a Reply

