My Travel Yarn Haul!

Yarn Haul: Wooly Mastadon

 

Time does fly when you’re having fun…wait, did I just say that?! Well, blog week was a lot of fun last week but that meant I have been saving the yarn haul I mentioned a while back for when it was done. When I went down to Wausau, WI the other week, the first thing I did was make sure that I would get a chance to stop at the LYS, The Black Purl. It was completely worth the time and I must say I went kind of crazy and got a ton of stuff. First of all, I’d just like to say that this is one of the most welcoming yarn shops. At the front of the store when you walk in is a table with chairs just for people to sit and knit, which was exactly what the ladies in the store were doing. They were friendly and asked what I was working on, but were also content to just let me browse (some yarn shops have people who follow you around talking and I do like my space to think about new projects, but also like to have the option to chat it up if I want to). Can I say the store was amazing. Even the outside was cool. When we drove up (my Mom was with me) and the building looked awesome with it’s black paint with pops of neon. The store was really artsy (which I absolutely love) and had lots of shop samples and interesting fibers. To many of you, the things I got perhaps aren’t as exciting but every yarn in this haul is new to me yarn. I have never tried any of the brands but have wanted to. So, with that, here’s what I ended up getting.

The first thing I got (well, first four, but I’m lumping them together as one) was four skeins of Berroco Vintage in colors #51180 (coral color), #5182 (plum color), #5197 (teal color), and #5107 (grey color). I ended up getting these skeins in the hope of making a crazy project using all of the colors (I know I’m not smart, as I got four different colors, but I loved the way they looked together so it shall have to come to pass). I have heard of this yarn as good for sweaters so I am excited to try it out.

Yarn Haul: Wooly Mastadon

The second thing I got was a skein of Cascade 220 Heathers in color #2423. I loved the color, I don’t have anything like it in my stash, and have wanted to test out this yarn in a project. It’s not crazy soft but I would definitely wear it against my skin…a cowl perhaps?

Yarn Haul: Wooly Mastadon

Thirdly, I got a Zauberball. It is color #2082 and the crazy purple stripes were just calling my name. Because I have heard that the thick-thin places in this yarn don’t always work for socks, I knew that going in and hope to make this into a crazy shawlette or something like that. Regardless, I am really excited about this one.

Yarn Haul: Wooly Mastadon

The last skein of yarn I got (but not the last item from the shop) was a skein of Madelinetosh: Tosh Merino Light, in the Espadrilles colorway. I have seen the colorway before and loved it, so when they had it on display at the Black Purl, I knew it had to be mine. I have really wanted to try out this yarn, so when I spotted this I nearly squealed with joy. I am so excited for this one. Again, perhaps this may become a shawl, or perhaps I will obtain another skein and make a two color shawl…the possibilities.

Yarn Haul: Wooly Mastadon

Finally, in one of my blog week posts I mentioned that my Lavishea bar was almost gone and that I needed to get another one. Well, here it is, the exact same thing. I just love this scent so I decided not to veer off to another although they all smell good.

Well, that is all (and that was a lot) for this yarn haul. I was a regular wool pig but I don’t regret a single purchase. I am excited to try all of these yarns which are often considered stables in many knitters stashes. Also, if you even go through Wausau, WI, definitely stop by The Black Purl. It is a wonderful shop, and the next time I am down there I am stopping by. Love it!

~Stay Inspired

Leave a Reply

