TDF Fiber Haul: Camelot Dyeworks

Camelot Dyeworks Haul: Wooly Mastadon

This past week I was finally able to stop by Camelot Dyeworks, a LYS in a neigboring town. It is a lovely little shop stocked with the owner’s hand-dyed yarns and fibers, original designs, and handspun. She also carries needles and notions so it is the perfect place to stop by for any projects. This visit, I was on a mission to buy some fiber. I needed some lovely fiber to spin up for Tour de Fleece (TDF) and since I joined the Camelot Dyeworks team, it was time to stock up on her fibers. I ended up with two braids of fiber, a skein of yarn, and some soak wash.

For starters I purchased a 4oz braid of BFL in her Gumdrops colorway. I have had my eye on this one for some time now and was thrilled to get my hands on it. Confession: I have never spun BFL. It seems crazy but I am really excited to spin this up and see how it goes.

Camelot Dyeworks Haul: Wooly Mastadon

All along I knew I wanted to pick up two braids of fiber, so I also picked up a 4oz braid of an SW Merino / Nylon blend in the Copper Harbor (similar) colorway. I have admired this colorway as well for a bit now and knew I wanted to try it. I am not a brown person, so I picked this colorway to expand my spinning and color tendancies a bit. I’m thinking about trying to spin for socks with this one, but I’m not sure that I’d have enough fiber for it. We shall see.

Camelot Dyeworks Haul: Wooly Mastadon

Finally, I couldn’t help but pick up a skein of sock yarn while I was there. I ended up getting a skein of her Percival Sock (75% superwash merino, 25% nylon) in her Raspberry Muffin colorway. I’ll be honest here: I had a lot of trouble deciding on what color to get as there are so many beautiful colorways. What cinched it was the name, raspberries are my absolute favorite berry and in the running for my favorite fruit. I’m not sure what I’ll be knitting this into yet, but I think it would be perfect for a fall accessory.

Camelot Dyeworks Haul: Wooly Mastadon

While I was there I also picked up (read my Mom purchased for me, haha) a bottle of the Soak wash in the Yuzu scent. I hadn’t tried this scent yet, but I must say, I kind of want to finish a project just so I can soak it, it smells amazing. Finally, I purchased an item earlier last week (not at Camelot Dyeworks) that I wanted to mention. There are so many lotion bar brands out there, and I am already a believer in the Lavishea bars, but I have found another good option. I go to a natural/organic grocery store when I visit my Grandmother, and it is awesome. It has everything, health foods, spices, bulk grains, essential oils, and bath items. I stumbled upon Zum Rub and I must say I love it. It is a moisturizer with goat’s milk and it is amazing. I got the Rosemary-Mint scent and it is so refreshing. Fair warning: this scent smells similar to vapor rub so if you hate that smell try a different one, but I love that smell so it is perfect.

Well, I think I am thoroughly stocked for TDF this year. I need to pick up my spinning game, it has fallen dreadfully behind. I’ll have more to share as this starts this weekend so stay tuned. Until then.

~Stay Inspired

Leave a Reply

