More Adventures with the Dyepot

Dyeing Fiber: Wooly Mastadon

Oh dear, yet another week has gone by and I was not present. It was a lovely week. I took two days off work (well, my two days that I get off per week) and went to visit my Grandmother before summer slipped away. She lives by a lake (I’ve mentioned her before) and I must say that so many summery things were crammed into those two days….and I didn’t take a single picture. I know, I know, I’m a horrible blogger. I brought along my camera but I guess just being in the moment has been more important to me this summer. I don’t know why, or maybe I do, but I also miss this space so I thought I’d share something fun, some inspiration for the new week perhaps?

Dyeing Fiber: Wooly Mastadon

I have been spinning a lot. I also don’t have a large fiber stash. These two variables brought me to realize that I needed to dye the two braids of fiber that have been sitting in my stash, waiting to be made colorful and ready to use. I had the time so I dyed up the fiber (stash pages here and here). Similar to my adventures in dying yarn, I only use food coloring, kool-aid, icing colors, and other food safe colorings so that it is safe to dye them in my kitchen, but I have yet to be dissappointed with my results.

I was lucky and my fiber didn’t felt that much. The process was simple, and easy to do…I didn’t freak out too much worrying about felting everything. I like the colors and am ready to dye more fiber (hmm, that means I need to buy more). Time to spin it up and knit something awesome. Are you interested in dying yarn and fiber? Do share.

~Stay Inspired

Leave a Reply

