I Bought a Rigid Heddle Loom!

My Schacht Rigid Heddle Loom: Wooly Mastad

So, as you can see from the title, I may or may not be a bit excited. I now own my very own 20 inch Schacht (old style, it was discontinued about 10 years ago) Rigid Heddle Loom. Now here’s the deal, I have been saving up for a Kromski for a while now. I had planned it out, I wanted it to be able to have two heddles, a stand, the works. In the end, everything I wanted would put me up around $500, which I didn’t and still don’t have saved up. I hadn’t even really given it a thought for a few months now because I knew it would take a very long time to save up.

My Schacht Rigid Heddle Loom: Wooly Mastad

Then my local community arts center (the one I volunteer at, am a board member at, and work in the letterpress studio) had it’s Fiberama Sale. This is huge yarn, fiber, fabric, notions, books, everything sale that happens about twice a year. Items are donated from the community and then sold as a fundraiser to benefit the center. More often than not, women from the community who are older or who are moving away donate weaving supplies (like the cones of wool I bought earlier this year) or sometimes even looms. I was there a day early to help set-up and price things as I know fiber/yarn quite well, and this loom was sitting in a corner. I was talking with the director and she really wanted to get it out and sold so asked me how much they typically go for. Let’s just say that this deal couldn’t be passed up. I asked if I could buy it, maybe even right away and she said sure. She was happy that I could use this loom, and that they had it sold and out of the building. I was thrilled because now I have a loom!

This was long-winded to say, I am stupid excited to get this warped and start weaving on it. I have had some hurdles, and more research will need to be done, but once I have some time (hopefully in the next few weeks) I will get this warped and ready to weave. I never intended to walk out of there with anything, and now I own a loom and the creativity is hardly contained. Any suggestions or tips? Do share.

P.S. Please excuse the image quality. I really could not figure out how to photograph this in an area where it would look good without clutter, so you got a carpeted floor and clutter to the sides. Hopefully if you’ve read this far you will forgive me, haha.

~Stay Inspired

One thought on “I Bought a Rigid Heddle Loom!

  1. FJ Davenport says:

    Glad you posted your new (old) loom. About 5 years ago I found one just like it at a yard sale for $5.00. It didn’t have any shuttles, so my husband made me some. So far I haven’t gotten to weave yet, but I really want to.

    Like

Leave a Reply

