Spinning Shenanigans and Splitstone Nonsense

Spinning Shenanigans: Wooly Mastadon

Remember back when I said I wouldn’t be putting my spinning on the sidelines anymore, back when tour de fleece 2015 was coming to an end and I had been spinning every spare moment to crank out more finished skeins in such a short amount of time than I ever had before? Well, remember that and then compare it to my silence of posting spinning projects here since. As a last nod to tdf this year, I put some fiber on my wheel, some of the last miscellaneous fiber I had received from a friend. I named it cloud fiber because of its colors. I don’t know the fiber content, and the prep isn’t good, but I thought I’d spin it up to get the fiber out of my stash and in a form that I could knit up. Well, it started spinning pretty thin (Ravelry project here), and I got caught up in other knitting projects, so spinning took a back seat. I have been spinning on a semi-regular basis around here, but for about 10 minutes here and there, mostly when I am about to head off to work, have everything wrapped up and just spin before I get up and walk out the door. That being said, this week I finally finished the first bobbin/half of this fiber. I also started the second half and am hoping to get this done soon. It’s always nice to get a project to a clear progress marker, such as finishing one bobbin. Hopefully this gives me the push to keep going.

As for my Splitstone, it has been taking up most of my time. I am slowly approaching my personal deadline of October 10th and I need to get this done. My current roadblock: how on earth do you pick up stitches for the neck and armholes? I have, can you believe it, never done this on a garment. I think I did it partially once on one of my dog’s sweaters but never on this scale. It has me paralyzed. So, I’m putting this out to all of you, do you have any tips or tricks on how to pick up stitches for a sweater? I want to tackle this but I am stumped. I’ll take any advice I can get.

Until next time, I hope you all have a wonderful, fiber filled weekend. Fall weather is finally rolling in which means cozy evenings with fiber, tea, and some simple comforts.

~Stay Inspired

One thought on “Spinning Shenanigans and Splitstone Nonsense

  1. chrisknits says:

    My rule of thumb is for every 4 rows of knitting you pick up 3 stitches along a straight edge. If you are picking up sts along an edge that has columns you pick up 1 for 1. Diagonal edges 5 of 6. But sometimes you just have to listen to your knitting and do what works for the situation. The above rules are to ensure you have no waffling or puckering of the knit item.

    Like

Leave a Reply

