More Socks…

WIP: Socks: Wooly Mastadon

Well, we’re back to the daily grind. It’s Monday and most of us are plodding through our days at work, hoping that the general atmosphere of the place usurps the sad Monday vibes and maybe, just maybe your coworkers won’t bite your head off. I know the feeling. This week for me is different as I’m working the weekend so I get to avoid the general Monday melancholy, but that doesn’t mean my week won’t start. I thought that since last week I shared all of my FOs, that this week I’d share what I cast on. I’ve been busy and of course when you finish something it gives you license to cast on something new, right? Granted the only projects I had lingering after that finishing spree were my Christmas mittens (which I am slowly revising, more on that later) and my scrap ‘ghan (which is just going to take me years to finish…I’ve come to terms with it. Remind me to stick to granny squares next time, will you?). Regardless, I am busy with some new projects.

To start, I thought I’d share my most predictable new addition to the WIP family. You guessed it, it’s another pair of socks. Per usual, I am knitting these toe-up with an afterthought heel (the kind where you place the waste yarn), a plain vanilla sock. What makes the socks special to me is the yarn. I died this yarn in the fiber studio in college my last year there with my professor. I was the only one interested in yarn and fiber dying in the class but my professor was willing to share that knowledge anyway. I dyed up this skein of yarn, not really knowing how it would knit up or how to place colors to get a certain result. Well, I’m loving the bright chaos that is ensuing. I don’t remember the exact yarn this was dyed on: it was a Knit Picks bare base, probably their Stroll base because I remember it being a superwash merino/nylon blend. I love knitting with this yarn, it is so soft and the color play is so much fun.

Well, that is my first WIP of the week. I’ll have a few more to share soon. The thing is, I still want to cast on another sweater and perhaps a cowl. Any suggestions? The week is just beginning, hope it’s a creative one!

~Stay Inspired

2 thoughts on “More Socks…

Leave a Reply

