An Awesome Fiber Haul

Fiber Haul: Wooly Mastadon

Yes, it is another haul, but this time it is mostly fiber. These were actually purchased 2ish weeks ago, but I just never got a chance to post them here. There is a lot of fiber here, but I want to make this known. My mother is amazing. She knows I love to spin yarn and knit lace shawls. Thus she asked if I would spin yarn and knit her a shawl with it. That prompted a visit to the local yarn shop Camelot Dyeworks to pick up some fiber. You can probably see where this is going by now, but Mom just couldn’t decide on one color so she bought two!! I planned on purchasing two braids of fiber for myself so we walked out with a lot of fiber. Granted it is a lot of work for me, but I absolutely love this and don’t view it as work so I was really happy to have a bunch of projects to work on this winter. Here’s what I got.

For starters (pictured above) I picked up a braid of BFL in the Bonfire colorway. I absolutely loved spinning BFL this summer for TDF and knew I had to get some more. The colors are perfect, fiery for autumn but also for what the name suggests, a bonfire or a fire in the fireplace. I’m seriously thinking I’ll have to spin this up during the darkest time of winter to cheer me up.

Fiber Haul: Wooly Mastadon

Next up I purchased a braid of 80% Merino 20% Tussah Silk in the Mermaid Lagoon colorway. I have never spun fiber with silk in it so I thought I’d give this a try. I love the colors, this is one of my favorite color combinations, so I can’t wait to see how this spins up.

Fiber Haul: Wooly Mastadon

Now for the fiber my Mom picked out: the first is a 100% Merino in the color Here Comes the Bride. She actually picked up two braids of this to ensure I would have enough to knit her a nice big shawl. These colors will make a very nice spring shawl if I can get it done by then.

Fiber Haul: Wooly Mastadon

The second and last braids of fiber Mom chose (yes braids, again she picked up two braids to ensure I could get enough yardage for a really big shawl), were again an 80% Merino 20% Tussah Silk blend in the colorway Harvest. I was actually going to pick up a braid of this as one of my two colors but Mom saw it and had to have it herself. I wasn’t going to argue. I think this will be a really fun one to spin and can’t wait to see how the colors interact.

Fiber Haul: Wooly Mastadon

The final thing I picked up at Camelot Dyeworks was a skein of yarn. It is a lovely aran weight tweed yarn (her Shield base) in the color Berry. I just loved the color in tweed and had to pick it up. It is destined to be a new hat design so hopefully I can get my act together and get that going.

Well, that is a lot of stuff, especially if I add in the yarn haul from earlier this week. I am excited for winter and snow (yes I am one of those people) and knitting will definitely be on the agenda even more. Here’s to a wonderful weekend filled with knitting, creativity, and a few seconds to step back and take a breath from all the crazy that slowly approaches with the holiday season.

~Stay Inspired

P.S. Happy Friday the 13th. I love this day of the year, it is so much fun, I genuinely get a chuckle out of it (sorry to all of you who hate it, perhaps this one will be better).

Leave a Reply

