A Project Fail…Sort Of

Mitten Fail: Wooly Mastadon

So, in a post I shared last week, I hinted that knitting, yes knitting, made me procrastinate and not knit. You might say this is madness, and it kind of is but yes, December was the month when I guilted myself so much over Christmas knitting that I just didn’t knit. Granted, this should never be the way I go about things when it comes to knitting but I just couldn’t stand knitting the project I chose on repeat. My project, knit what felt like four million pairs of mini mitten ornaments to give away as gifts. The kicker, I started this in July…July!

Mitten Fail: Wooly Mastadon

When I started to knit these mittens, I fell in love with the pattern. It’s a decent pattern, simple, and creates an adorable FO. I knit the first pair in a striped sequence and loved it. I cast on another pair of striped mittens, and they sat, for months. Fast forward to November and I realized I better start knitting again if I wanted to get all the mittens completed in time to give them to people for Christmas. I didn’t’ want to do it and decided I had time to put it off, only knitting about two pairs. Then December rolled around. I didn’t want to knit the mittens, but knew full well I had to if I wanted to meet my goal. Thus I didn’t knit anything, not my shawl, not my socks, not my afghan. I felt guilty working on any other projects so I simply didn’t knit. Then came the week before Christmas, and my needles flew. I frantically tried to knit at least 5 pairs of mittens in part of a day (which simply could not happen). I failed. This is the first time I have not completed my Christmas knitting/crocheting/crafting. Every other year I have been on top of things. This year, only a select few people got a hand-made gift.

Mitten Fail: Wooly Mastadon

The moral of the story, don’t procrastinate, and if a project really isn’t as fun as you had hoped, just don’t do it. Pick another pattern you can love and move on. Note to self, don’t knit mini mitten ornaments as Christmas gifts again. On the bright side, the two people who got striped mittens are very lucky and 10 people did get mittens (I knit 10 pairs people!), and I am back to knitting all of the things once more.

~Stay Inspired

Leave a Reply

