A Test Project: Knitting on a Sock Loom

Sock Loom Knitting: Wooly Mastadon

Because Christmas is now over and the new year is here I decided to test out a new to me product, a sock loom. Truth be told, the idea of using a loom to ‘knit’ socks didn’t really appeal to me. Thus I decided to test it out in another way, why not attempt to make baby hats. That is just what I’ve been trying. I’m not going to do a full review here at this point, but lets just say that if you know how to knit decently well, then this loom might be annoying for you. I am only barely out of the ribbing of the brim and it has taken me several hours. I still don’t have the hang of it but I am determined to figure it out. At this point I know this hat will be way to large for a newborn or baby, perhaps it won’t even be of use to anyone, but at least I am trying a new skill. On the positive side, the colors in the yarn are perfect for babies and it is 100% acrylic so no allergies will be set off. The loom is built well and once you get into a rhythm it is kind of soothing to plug and chug. No it won’t replace my knitting needles any time soon (not ever) but I am enjoying trying something different.

Here’s to trying new things in 2016.

~Stay Inspired

P.S. The yarn is Bernat Sox in the Hot Tamale colorway and the sock loom is from Boye.

Leave a Reply

