A Holiday Yarn and Book Haul

Holiday Yarn/Book Haul: Wooly Mastadon

Yes, my friends, another yarn and book haul (plus). It is well known in my family that I do indeed knit, crochet, and spin up a storm so this holiday and birthday I received some lovely gifts of yarn, books, and even some pencil roving. Here’s what I got.

Holiday Yarn/Book Haul: Wooly Mastadon

For starters yarn. My aunt and mother know I have a love of yarn and enjoy testing out new things. I received three types of yarn as well as two different colors, purple and turquoise, of crochet thread (not pictured). Here we go. First off are these lovely skeins of Lion Brand Yarn Hometown USA in the color Key Largo Tweed. I love the depth to the yarn and it’s softness. I have enough to make a bulky cowl, I think that is exactly what it will become.

Holiday Yarn/Book Haul: Wooly Mastadon

I also received several skeins of Premier Yarns City Life in the color Hostas (# CL – 08). I’ve never seen a yarn like this before so I will be excited to test out it’s limits. Seems to me jewlery might have to be knit.

Holiday Yarn/Book Haul: Wooly Mastadon

The final yarn I received was several skeins of Red Heart Boutique Sashay Team Spirit in the Red/Grey colorway. I think a fluffy cowl might have to be knit up out of this as I test the limitations of this yarn as well.

As for books (beginning picture), I am excited to say I am now the proud owner of Wendy Bernard’s Up, Down, and All-Around Stitch Dictionary as well as Crochet One Skein Wonders by Judith Durant and Edie Eckman. I have paged through both books but haven’t given them a thorough look yet. I am really excited about both, but I think the stitch dictionary might be my favorite. I am so excited to do some design work in 2016 and this book is definitely going to help. Even better, there are a few sweater patterns included. As for the crochet book, my favorite patterns I have seen thus far just might be the amigurumi animals, they are so adorable.

Holiday Yarn/Book Haul: Wooly Mastadon

Yes, I am almost done but I saved perhaps the most thoughtful gift for last. Spinning was not left out this year, as you can see I received a lovely ball of pencil roving. It is alpaca! I’m so excited to spin this as I have never spun alpaca before. The best part is this is from a friend’s family’s farm, so I know the fiber is coming from animals that are loved and treated well. The color is perfect too.

Well, that was a book, but that was my November/December stash acquisitions. I think I’m set for a while, now I just need to knit/spin/crochet/read all of this. On a different note, I hope that 2016 is proving to be an amazing year. It is for me as I spend this weekend celebrating the marriage of two of my closest friends.

~Stay Inspired

Leave a Reply

