Crazy How Things Change…24 a Few Months In

24 Reflection: Wooly Mastadon

A strange title for a blog post on a fiber blog but it is fitting right now. I haven’t done a serious sit-down-and-chat post in a while. It’s just one of those things. It has been a good several weeks of 2016, but crazy and hectic. The thing is, it’s only now finally sinking in, I’m 24. Granted I’ve been 24 since November but for whatever reason I just ignored it and moved on. By now, most good bloggers would make a 25 by 25 list but I’m just not into goals like that so I thought I’d change things up. 24 isn’t a standout age so to speak, but for me it just feels like a big one. It’s kind of hitting mid 20s and it was a mark that I kind of thought I’d have more figured out. Its a nondescript year, but for some reason it hit me. I’m 24, have no idea what I’m doing, working at a grocery store in customer service and bookkeeping, I’ve got freelance design projects coming and going, but I have no idea who I am.

It’s a strange thing, when people think you should have everything figured out, that somehow you should be making big bucks in a career, the media pushes you to believe that if you don’t have a solid hold on what life is by now, you’re destined to fail. Now I don’t believe all that, rather I know life is just one long journey of learning, about yourself, about life, about your fellow human beings. You never have it all figured out, something always changes to make you rework what you though you knew. Imposter syndrome will always be there if you have a success, and there will always be people to tell you what you don’t want to hear.

But there are always people there to help you too. Slowly but surely, although I have no idea what I am doing, I am learning who I am each day, how I change, how people close to me view me and value what I do even if it isn’t glamorous. Maybe I work a low-key job (with great people mind you) so that I stay humble, but also so I can keep doing what I love without tainting it with deadlines. Perhaps it is there to remind me that yes, I have plenty to work for and that with time I might just get there.

24. I’ve still got plenty of time before I hit 25 and no list is going to prepare me to get there, but perhaps I will end with this. By 25 I want to be more comfortable with who I am and where I am in life, even if it just means making sure I appreciate what I have now, appreciating where I am life and where I am going. My situation my be the same, but if I can refocus on the people I love and put more time into the things that really matter, then 24 will be a success and anything that follows will be where I am supposed to be.

~Stay Inspired

Leave a Reply

