A Weekend Project: Painting Textures

Acrylic Paint Fun: Wooly Mastadon

This weekend I decided it would be the perfect time to paint…or at least attempt it. I had a friend over and we both went at it, trying our best to paint something decent. Although he gave up painting realistically very quickly I never even tried. I just decided to play with paint in the hopes that I could make some textures I could scan into the computer and use in future graphic design projects (perhaps a branding system for tea…hmmmmm yes). That is what I did and although I didn’t make a whole lot I ended up with three textures playing with color that I think will be fun to put to use digitally.

Acrylic Paint Fun: Wooly Mastadon

On a side tangent, I absolutely love the idea of taking something tactile and combining it with digital media to create a new project, piece of art, or branding system. That part of art is what keeps me going when I get frustrated in the current digital age. I love being able to make a project or piece of art with my hands, but then also be able to digitally make something as well. Perhaps this is my balance.

Acrylic Paint Fun: Wooly Mastadon

Regardless we both had fun with paint, acrylics to be exact. I think I need to get the watercolors out next to make some more textures, despite the frustration I feel every time I get out paint I still want to go back and try again. That’s got to stand for something. With that, happy Monday! Here’s the chance to make it an amazing week.

~Stay Inspired

Leave a Reply

