FO: Moulin Rouge

FO Moulin Rouge: Wooly Mastadon

It’s done, it’s photographed, it’s awesome and ready to face the world. As you may have seen in my post last Friday, I had finished my Moulin Rouge shawl by Kirsten Kapur but had yet to take photos. Well, spring is starting to show up here so during the week on my day off I was able to head outside and take some photos. Granted all the photos look like I could have taken them in October of last year but that’s spring for you where I live. Things don’t green up and bloom until May and June.

FO Moulin Rouge: Wooly Mastadon

The stats, I knit my shawl out of Knit Picks Stroll Bare Fingering on a US size 7 circular needle. I had hand-dyed this skein with icing colors hoping for a gray but ended up with an almost purple. Before I started knitting I was seriously considering over dying this but now I’m thinking against it, I like how the patterning of the shawl pairs with the yarn.

FO Moulin Rouge: Wooly Mastadon

As you can see from the pictures this shawl is very long, more of a scarf. It blocked out to far past my wingspan but it is light and airy and will be perfect for the rest of spring and summer. Considering I had never worked short rows in a shawl this pattern was a great place to start and I might knit it again as a gift for someone. Final thoughts, awesome pattern, awesome design, love this shawl!

FO Moulin Rouge: Wooly Mastadon

As for my next shawl I think it will have to be Waiting for Rain by Sylvia Bo Bilvia. I love the lace detailing and have some yarn I dyed last year (at the same time I dyed the yarn for Moulin Rouge) that would be perfect. Here’s to spring, sunshine, adventures, and of course, new projects and lace knitting.

FO Moulin Rouge: Wooly Mastadon

~Stay Inspired

Leave a Reply

